Lest WE Forget……

*******

“Lest We Forget”

These words were reputedly scribbled a century ago –
by an anonymous Soldier of the Confederacy.

“I asked God for strength that I might achieve;
I was made weak, that I may learn humbly to obey.

I asked for health, that I might do greater things;
I was given infirmity that I might do better things.

I asked for riches, that I may be happy;
I was given poverty that I might be wise.

I asked for all things that I might enjoy life;
I was given life that I may enjoy all things.

I got nothing that I asked for,
but everything I had hoped for.
Despite myself, my prayers were answered.
I am among men most richly blessed.”

John 3 : 16 –  Probably sums it all up.
Probably the best known and most loved verse in the Bible.
Known also as “every Christian’s text”-
and “the gospel in a nutshell”.
God not acting not for Himself- but for ours.
It tells us that no one is excluded from God’s  LOVE.

“For God so loved the world
that he gave his only begotten Son,
that whoever believes in Him should not perish
but have everlasting life”
John 3:16

looking

Follow me on – http://pintrest.com/opalmassey

2 thoughts on “Lest WE Forget……

opalmassey@yahoo.com.au

